The Bullet Journal 2017

Ok, so avid-picklers will know that a little while ago I shared my love for my Moleskine 2017 diary. In that post I talked about my interest in Bullet Journalling. Well, a week or so later and I have started a bullet journal. I am keeping my Moleskine one as well, as a back up, but  I’m going to give this whole thing a go.

For those of you who don’t know, the bullet journal is considered “the analog system for the digital age”, a “customisable and forgiving organisation system.” Learn more about it here.

The original Bullet Journal is very minimal and structured, however the freedom of the journal is that you can make it what ever you want it to be. All you need to start is a notebook and pen.My journal is just a blank Quill Art Diary from Office works and I’ve been really enjoying it.

This is how I understand it –

There are a number of very important features of the journal:

  • The page numbers
  • The index
  • The yearly log
  • The monthly log

The first thing you need to do is number your pages. And the first page of your journal should be your index, I have left two pages for mine with a column down the middle, because they can get really big! Every time you start a new page in your journal you add it to your index so everything is easy to find.

dsc_0261

It’s suggested that the next few pages in your book should be your yearly log. This is like a calendar where you can quickly look and see the lay of the year. This is where I mark national holidays, Uni dates and birthdays. The yearly log is important because at the start of the year, you don’t have your days and weeks drawn up, so if a date comes up in November you need to remember, this is where you mark it. As you can see below, I have the month on one side and a panel on the left to write in dates. I use colour and mark these dates on the log.

(I have blanked bits in my journal just for privacy)

dsc_0262

At the start of each month I draw up my monthly log. This is where you can be more specific about events on each day, such as work, meetings, flights, events etc. You fill this in, first by considering your yearly log, and then adding bits in as they come up.

dsc_0265

Ok, the daily log is the more personal bit. I have seen this done in a number of different ways. Some do it in the original bullet journal form, some use it as a day-to-a-page system, others organise is as a week. That’s the beauty of the journal. If one day you just need a to do list, that’s fine, if one day you want to write a full diary entry that’s also fine. It is so versatile.

I have started off by drawing out my week on a Monday and using it like that, but I am still working out the best system for me.

dsc_0267

My favourite bit about the journal is the way it combines diary and blank notebook. I have included packing lists, habit trackers, to-do lists, my resolutions, books to read, in the same space as my diary, as I think of them. And then I always know where my lists and notes are. They’re in the most convenient place, easily fitted into my diary.

So do you like it?? Have I converted you? I’ve been using it for a week or two now and it is just amazing. I love the creative aspect of it as well. It does take a little bit of time to set up, but once you’ve done it, it’s done! Let me know if you’re using one, what you think and ask me anything in the comments below.

img_1947

dsc_0259

Leave a Reply

