January Reads

Some of you may remember that one of my new years resolutions was to read more, I wanted to be reading at least one book a month. Well, here we are at the start of February and I can tell you that I read three books last month. thank you, thank you. Let’s go.

dsc_0249

Firstly, let’s talk about This Modern Love by Will Darbyshire. Will Darbyshire is a youtuber who makes videos, short films, does photography etc. one of those creative minds! He has spent the last couple of years working on this book. It is a collection of love letters, talking about the beginning, middle and end of relationships. These letters were submitted by people from all over the world. This isn’t so much a novel, more a lovely thing to flick through and read. He’s done it so well and I really enjoyed reading it.

dsc_0251

From here you can see I got on a bit of a funny memoir train. I started with Amy Schumer’s The Girl with the Lower Back Tattooalready it’s funny, yeah? I quite enjoyed this as a quick flick! is there such a thing?! However, I wouldn’t say this is a must-read. It’s definitely entertaining, but it’s a one-read kind of thing.

dsc_0252

Next stop was Yes Please by Amy Poehler. I have heard so much about this book online, and yes I did like it but to be honest I didn’t know much about Amy Poehler and so there were bits I didn’t get it. This book is more for diehard Poehler fans I feel. So although entertaining and a good read for my weekend away when I didn’t really want to concentrate much, I won’t be going back to it.

dsc_0250

This is the book I am currently reading and I am loving it!! It’s called The Little Coffee Shop in Kabul by Deborah Rodriguez. After my funny memoir thing it’s so nice to read something with a bit of meaning and oomph. sorry Amy-s. I mean I haven’t finish it yet, but it is so refreshing to read such quality.

I think I have definitely returned to fiction/ powerful non-fiction, I mean the memoirs were fun, but not for me. I prefer the more meaningful stuff with layers and depth. See you tomorrow,

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

